WordPress Plug-Ins

As part of the assessment criteria for this module, we’re required to edit the CSS of our digital media WordPress blogs, as well as add 3 third party plugins. These could be a gallery, anti-spam software or a social media feed for example. The first plug-in I installed was Akismet, which is an anti-spam plug-in. This means that my wordpress site will be protected for spam comments and emails for example. I’ve also used a social media plugin called Social Sliders, which adds a collection of animated social media icons that link ot my photography sites on various social networks. This will be useful for people to view my other work that isn’t listed on WordPress. My final plugin is one called NextGen Gallery, that is a simple plugin that allows the user to create simple galleries that can be posted in a post or a page for example. I have used this to show the images I have created for this module, aswell as them being available on my full website. Below is a screenshot of the plug-ins page of my wordpress blog, which shows the plugins I currently have activated:

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 12.52.23

Leave a Reply

