252MC – Final Project Outline

For our final project, we have been given the title of Work, Rest and Play. Here is the brief we received:

“Set up and shoot 3 sets of images. There must be 10 or more images in each set.
o Set 1: entitled ‘Work’
o Set 2: entitled ‘Rest’
o Set 3: entitled ‘Play’

The images must be your own work and capture the essence of the module in terms
of ‘digital media’.
The production process and creative research should be blogged throughout –
subject/location/equipment/rationale/post-production etc.
You may replace one set of images with a video exploring the replaced title theme.
The video should be no less than 30 seconds and no more than 2 minutes in length.
Image sets must be displayed either via WordPress plug-ins or on static pages
hosted on your server-space.
NB: It is up to you to interpret and research the brief.”

For this assignment, I really wanted to try something new and follow the theme of new digital media. I wanted to create some really interesting and thought-provoking pieces, using modern digital techniques and ideas.

Work:

I plan to create a set of data visualizations focussing on travel to and from work. After doing a little research I have come across this site; http://www.flightradar24.com/ , which gives detailed information about the arrival and departures from various airport around the world, as well as a real-time live feed of flights currently in the air. I plan to use this information to create a data visualisation of the mount of flights between 7 and 8am, which is the typical time for travelling to work. I intend to create something that is aesthetically pleasing in its own right, but also shows some interesting information. I will create 10 images of the 10 biggest/most interesting airports across the globe, and overlay them with some images that I have taken myself. Here are some links to data visualisation that have inspired me: http://www.designer-daily.com/10-great-examples-of-data-visualization-design-37927 I plan to create the art pieces in Photoshop, which will allow for a lot of artistic creativity within the mundane data I will collect.

Rest:

I have had some difficulty coming up with an interesting idea for the topic of rest, as I am attempting to avoid cliché. However I have come up with a way of combining new digital trends with classic photography. I plan to shoot portrait style images of my friends in the formal environment of the photography studio in relaxed poses, or doing something they consider relaxing, then mask out their image with a ‘glitch art’ version of them. Glitch Art is the practice of editing an images code to create glitches in the image, which can range from adjusted colours and patterns to repetitions and cut-outs. Here are some good examples of glitch art: http://www.theverge.com/2013/9/13/4726098/glitch-art-generator-snorpey-github and also an online application that makes the process much simpler: http://snorpey.github.io/jpg-glitch/ However I plan to create my glitch art images myself so that I can have more creative control over the final outcome. Below is a step by step guide on how to create glitch images:

1. Convert the image of your choice into a .tif format (This format is uncompressed, and allows for more creative control)

2. Import the image as ‘Raw Data’ into a program such as Audacity, which will convert the image data into a soundwave.

3. Alter the soundwave using the software’s built-in effects, or cut and replace sections of the soundwave.

4. Export the file and a .tif again, and then view the creation!

While the process itself seems quite simple, it’s difficult to master as the results are mostly unpredictable. A lot can be achieved by trial and error, which is the method I’ll be using. I feel glitch art is relevant to the project brief, as my generation hs been described as Digital Natives, which means that we have grown up in the digital age, and are used to digital technology more so than our elders. I believe we all have another unique ‘digital identity’, that is always present and active thanks to social media, smartphones and other communication devices. The glitch art will be a reference to that digital identity, that is always active even when we are at rest.

Play:

When thinking of the theme for play, I decided to create a short video instead of 10 images, as I believe the motion in the video will be a good representation of the narrative of ‘play’. For this video, I plan to use the rotoscoping technique I have mentioned in previous posts and create a short 2 minute film about future technology. I’m taking my inspiration from the new iGlass from Apple, and a video created in that style by……

All of these themes will be displayed in a digital format, as to link in with the topic of Digital Media.

Leave a Reply

