Task 2 – Pin-Hole Images

This task was all about investigating a area/space when it is devoid of human presence. Because we were using pin-hole, I knew that I would be using long exposure, with my camera needing around 50-60 seconds to expose an image. This meant that if I was photographing moving people and cars, then they wouldn’t appear on the image and would create a ‘ghost-town’ style image. This is similar to Hiroshi Sugimoto’s work in the theatres, where he took an exposure for an entire film, with the screen becoming a blank white space, and the audience disappearing.

For my final images, I positioned the camera facing areas that are normally busy, such as the entrance to the Ellen Terry Building, the walkway past the hub towards the Cathedrals, a pedestrian crossing and one of the large ‘shared spaces’ which is used a lot by cars and buses. Below are my final images:

I chose to frame the images using a black border in the darkroom, as I thought this gave them a vintage feel. I plan to store the work in a simple black box, which gives the images more of an ‘artefact’ feel. I am very pleased with how these image have turned out, because they look very surreal without people in the shots, especially as they are during the daytime.

I like how they show the spaces in a different way, and make you appreciate or examine the architecture of the spaces. I also like how they have a ‘vintage’ feel about them, as if they are historical archived photos. To improve these images, I would probably spend more time working out the correct focal distance of my camera, and maybe improve the aperture to ensure they are sharper. I would also attempt to make the images bigger, maybe using a larger camera.

These images are definitely an improvement on my original test shots, especially after swapping the old cardboard aperture with one made from tin foil.

Crossing CathedralHub EllenTerry Campbell

Leave a Reply

