Task 2 – Research/Plan

For task 2, the brief was to “investigate photographically, the personality of an open place/space when it is devoid of human presence.” I immediately thought of long exposures, which link well to pin-hole photography, and so decided to base my idea around this. I plan to take images of areas in Coventry that are normally busy with people, record the time they were taken, and then present them together. The reason for recording the time the image was taken, is because the image would have a ghost-town like effect due to the long exposure, which would remove the people passing by. Therefore if I caption the image with the time it was taken, I can show people what that space would look like at that time of day without any people being there.

The images would be around 5×2 inches due to the size of my camera, and so I plan to add an attractive black border around the images when printing them. This will make them aesthetically  pleasing and more like an artefact rather than a collection of prints. I may also mount the images in a box or old tin, to add to the artefact. Below is a lost of areas I plan to photograph.The brief requires us to produce 2-4 images, however I may continue this project in the future to include more prints, should I have the time to do so.

Areas:

  • Alongside Hub looking at Cathedral
  • Graham Sutherland overlooking red square
  • By Rosie Malone’s looking towards clock-tower
  • Red square down towards elephant building

Below are some photographers and their images that I will be inspired by while creating this task:

Hiroshi Sugimoto – Theatres

David Gilliver

Titled: "I Will Watch Over You" From David Gilliver's series "Orbs". His work can be found here: http://www.davidgilliverphotography.com/other-light-Drawings.html

Titled: “I Will Watch Over You” From David Gilliver’s series “Orbs”. His work can be found here: http://www.davidgilliverphotography.com/other-light-Drawings.html

Titled: "Rainbow Road" from David Gilliver's series "Ribbons". His work can be found here: http://www.davidgilliverphotography.com/other-light-Drawings.html

Titled: “Rainbow Road” from David Gilliver’s series “Ribbons”. His work can be found here: http://www.davidgilliverphotography.com/other-light-Drawings.html

Leave a comment